The first initiative leading to the establishment of the National Glass Museum came from the former director of the glass factory, P.M. Cochius.
How it all started
He wanted to introduce to the market utility glass that was not just affordable and functional but also beautifully designed. To achieve this, from 1915 onwards he invited various artists and designers – including the architects H.P. Berlage and Frank Lloyd Wright – who transformed everyday production glass into stunning glassware. Alongside production glassware, the factory also made unique glass objects. A number of unique pieces made by A.D. Copier, the Netherlands’ best-known twentieth-century glass artist, were already signed with ‘museum’ as early as 1928. In 1953, the Glass Museum was established in Cochius’s former residence and was later expanded with the neighbouring villa ‘Lingesight’. The innovative production glass and the works of A.D. Copier still belong to the masterpieces of the museum’s collection.